Flytrex Site
Flytrex Site FAQ

1. I'd like to use Flytrex but without sharing my flights with everyone else. Is it possible?

Yes. For each mission you upload you can set its privacy level: Public or Private. Public missions are shared across the Flytrex site and are visible to all other pilots and site visitors.

Setting a mission as private will keep it that way. Private missions are only visible to you, on your personal Profile tab. Private missions are not shown in any of the public views, the Explore and Globe views, nor is it listed in any of the badge statistics in the Badges view.

Select the desired mission privacy level is done in the mission preview view, just after selecting the mission file to upload and before hitting the Publish Mission button.

In addition to setting up mission privacy for each mission you upload you can also configure the default mission privacy for newly uploaded missions through your account settings. To access your account settings click your account username on the top-right corner.

2. How can I determine the privacy level of a published mission and toggle its privacy?

You can check whether a published mission is public or private by checking the bottom right corner of your mission's box in your Flytrex Profile page. If the mission is private, you'll see a small padlock icon at the bottom right corner. If it's public, the bottom right corner will be icon-free.

To toggle the privacy of your mission find the mission you'd wish to change on your Flytrex Profile page. There you'll see a small triangle in the top right corner of this mission's box. Click this triangle to open the mission drop-down menu. Select 'Set Mission as Public/Private' to toggle this missions privacy level. You'll notice the private pad-lock icon visibility changes as you toggle this mission's privacy status.

3. I just started using Flytrex but pressing the Upload Mission doesn't seems to work. Other parts of the site also doesn't seem to work.

Our site uses HTML5 technology. When visiting Flytrex site with an older browser, without HTML5 support, parts of the site won't operate properly. For the best user experience you should use a browser with HTML5 support. The latest versions of all major browsers includes HTML5 support, including Chrome, Firefox, IE10, Opera and Safari. Visit HTML5 readiness for latest status.

4. How can I edit an existing mission details? Add or update mission video? Change title or update the aircraft linked with the mission?

In many cases you might need to update some details of an existing mission, such as adding a new flight video to your mission, update it's title or set missing aircraft details. To do so, visit the Profile tab and navigate to the desired mission. Then click on the mission-menu button (small down arrow on the right side of each mission title), and select "Edit Mission". Using the Edit Mission dialog you can update the mission title, update mission video, set mission aircraft and change mission privacy settings.

5. I just uploaded a new mission and the Max Altitude seems much higher than my actual flight. What is the difference between Max Altitude and Max Ascent?

With every flight mission you upload you will see two altitude related values: Max Altitude and Max Ascent. Max Altitude shows the max altitude you reached relative to sea level, so if you're located on a hill or high mountain your Max Altitude will reflect this. The second value, Max Ascent, shows the maximum ascent you reached in your actual flight mission and is relative to your starting altitude.

6. Is it possible to use my Flytrex data with other apps such as Google Earth?

Yes. Flytrex offers exporting options to Google Earth KML format and to CSV format for use with different applications such as Excel, Dashware and others. To export your Flytrex mission visit your Flytrex Profile page and find the mission you wish to export. Press the down arrow shown on the right side of the mission title. From the popup menu that opens select the Export Mission option to open the Mission Export tool. Use this tool to easily export your mission data to either KML or CSV format.

You can download a sample CSV mission export file here, and a sample KML mission export here. Note that the voltage field in the exported file only exists if the mission was originally recorded using the Flytrex Live or Flytrex Live 3G.

7. I just finished a long distance flight with Flytrex, however, the max-distance is showing a shorter distance than the actual distance to the furthest point of my flight. What is the cause for this?

In most cases this happens if your landing point is different from your take-off point. Since Flytrex is all about multirotors and challenges, Flytrex algorithms measure the max-distance as the longest round-trip performed in a single mission, and is designed to ignore one-side trip. This means that is you landed half way back from your take-off point, the max-distance value will only be half of the absolute max-distance of your flight. This max-distance definition is designed to eliminate one-direction flights and defining the max-distance challenge to measure the longest round-trip flight.

8. How can I delete an aircraft from my profile?

Enter your Gear page by clicking on the aircraft image on the left side panel of your Profile page. Hover the image box of the aircraft you wish to delete and two buttons will show on the right-top corner of the image: "Delete" and "Edit". Press the Delete button to completely delete the aircraft.

Although deleting an aircraft is possible, it is not recommended to delete an aircraft. Deleting an aircraft will un-link all existing missions currently assigned to this aircraft and will list those missions without any aircraft. Instead, we recommend editing the aircraft and marking it as "Retired". Marking an aircraft as retired will no longer show it in your profile, but will still keep old missions linked with the retired aircraft and maintain stats that were collected for this aircraft. To mark an aircraft as Retired click the Edit button instead and change the Aircraft Status selection box to Retired.